Minerals Council Re-Elects Current Office Bearers

The Minerals Council South Africa (formerly known as the Chamber of Mines) recently re-elected its current bearers to serve for the 2018/19 term of office.

Mxolisi Mgojo, CEO of Exxaro Resources, was re-elected as president. Steve Phiri, CEO of Royal Bafokeng Platinum, Andile Sangqu, executive head of Anglo American

Image: Marianne Schwankhart @ Sunday Times
Image: Marianne Schwankhart @ Sunday Times

South Africa and Neal Froneman, CEO of Sibanye-Stillwater, were re-elected as Vice Presidents.

Deshnee Naidoo, CEO of Vedanta Zinc International has been elected to the board, with Errol Smart, CEO of Orion Minerals elected to represent emerging miners and Chris Sheppard, COO of AngloGold Ashanti, called upon to join the board with immediate effect.

Roger Baxter, CEO of the Mineral Council said that the council was fortunate to have continuity in the leadership team with the re-election of all Office Bearers. He also welcomed Deshnee Naidoo, Errol Smart and Chris Sheppard to the Board, stating that they brought with them a wealth of experience and expertise.

Image: ┬ęShutterstock - 1006957837

You might be interested in these articles?